

To: Members of the County Council Date: 8 May 2018

Direct Dial: 01824706141

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

### **Dear Councillor**

You are invited to attend a meeting of the COUNTY COUNCIL to be held at 10.00 am on TUESDAY, 15 MAY 2018 in COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN LL15 1YN.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

#### **AGENDA**

## PART 1 - THE PRESS AND PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THIS PART OF THE MEETING

## 1 APOLOGIES

## 2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

#### 3 APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIR OF COUNTY COUNCIL

To appoint the Chair of the Council for the municipal year 2018/2019.

#### 4 APPOINTMENT OF THE VICE-CHAIR OF COUNTY COUNCIL

To appoint the Vice-Chair of the Council for the municipal year 2018/2019.

### 5 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

## **BREAK (15 minutes)**

## **6 MINUTES** (Pages 7 - 12)

To receive the minutes of the meeting of County Council held on 10 April 2018 (copy attached).

## 7 LDP TIMETABLE (Pages 13 - 30)

To consider a report by the Strategic Planning & Housing Manager (copy attached) to seek approval for amendments to the timetable for production of the Denbighshire Replacement Local Development Plan.

## 8 ANNUAL REPORT OF SCRUTINY COMMITEES (Pages 31 - 64)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Co-ordinator (copy attached) for Council to consider the Annual Report of the Scrutiny Committees for 2017/18.

# 9 COMMITTEE TIMETABLE FOR 2019 AND ANNUAL REVIEW OF POLITICAL BALANCE (Pages 65 - 90)

To consider a report by the Democratic Services Manager (copy attached) seeking decisions on Committee related issues.

#### 10 NOTICE OF MOTION

Councillor Huw Jones put forward the following Notice of Motion for consideration by Full Council:

- (i) This Council notes that:
  - a. School Uniform Grants were provided to children from the most disadvantaged backgrounds as they entered Year 7
  - b. The value of the Grant was £105 per pupil
  - c. 156 pupils in Denbighshire received this Grant in 2017/18, and an average of 166 pupils have received it per year since 2009/10
  - d. The value of this school uniform Grant for DCC last year (2017/18) was £16,380
- (ii) This Council condemns the Welsh Government's plans to scrap the School Uniform Grant.
- (iii) This Council believes that ill-conceived announcements creates uncertainty, and that DCC will have to budget according to information that is available not on vague assurances that another form of funding will replace the Grant.
- (iv) This Council seeks urgent clarification from the Welsh Government as to what new funding it plans to put in place to replace the School Uniform Grant, and a clear timetable when the Council should expect to receive the funds.

#### 11 NOTICE OF MOTION

Councillor Mabon ap Gwynfor put forward the following Notice of Motion for consideration by Full Council:

"This Council calls on Denbighshire County Council to provide female sanitary products for free to schools in Denbighshire, ensuring that girls are able to receive them in a way that respects their dignity and independence".

#### 12 NOTICE OF MOTION

Councillor Paul Penlington put forward the following Notice of Motion for consideration by Full Council:

"This Council requests Cabinet not to renew Kingdom Security's contract in November 2018 and calls on the Cabinet to instruct DCC officers to bring a paper to the September meeting of the Council outlining options for delivering a similar service through their own staffing and resources, focused more on public support and education rather than on sanctions".

## 13 COUNTY COUNCIL FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 91 - 92)

To consider the Council's forward work programme (copy attached).

#### **MEMBERSHIP**

#### Councillors

Councillor Pete Prendergast (Chair)

Mabon ap Gwynfor Brian Blakeley Joan Butterfield Jeanette Chamberlain-Jones

Ellie Chard Ann Davies Gareth Davies Meirick Davies Hugh Evans Peter Evans Bobby Feeley Rachel Flynn Tony Flynn

Huw Hilditch-Roberts Martyn Holland

Hugh Irving Alan James Brian Jones Huw Jones Richard Mainon Christine Marston Barry Mellor Melvyn Mile Bob Murray

Bob Murray
Merfyn Parry
Paul Penlington
Arwel Roberts
Anton Sampson
Peter Scott
Glenn Swingler
Andrew Thomas
Rhys Thomas
Tony Thomas

Julian Thompson-Hill

Graham Timms
Joe Welch
Cheryl Williams
David Williams

Pat Jones Tina Jones Gwyneth Kensler Geraint Lloyd-Williams Eryl Williams Huw Williams Emrys Wynne Mark Young

## COPIES TO:

Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils